L-MOUNT Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Somewhat obscure software updates

wh1tby

As I have noted elsewhere, I am new to the L Mount and Lumix series of cameras and am a new owner of an S5II with which I am very impressed.

I registered the camera and lenses I have with Panasonic and was somewhat surprised that they did not let me know that there was a software update for the S5II (1.1 on 23 March). I was delivered the camera at the end of January so it had V1.0 firmware. I fell across the update in a review by the Hybrid Shooter who mentioned that some of the issues in V1.0 had been fixed with V1.1, so I went searching and eventually found it. It also had an update for the 70 - 300 mm lens.

However, given I am not familiar with Lumix, is this normal. For Fuji, Canon and Sony (and Nikon in the past) I would get notifications about an update with a link and not have to go and hunt it down once I even knew it existed. Odd for a very large company like Panasonic. Now I know, I have bookmarked the software update page and will regularly check for updates, Just curious really.

I would get notifications about an update with a link

Did you give Panasonic your email address while you registered the camera?

If not, how can they contact you? If yes, check your spam folder.

I think I am not registerd with Panasonic (shame on me), so I do not get their emails - if they send those emails at all, which I do not know.

But thanks to the Forum here, you will get that information early enough I hope.

Reactions: AZ1